Planet of the Monkeys

Welcome to Planet of the Monkeys – where monkeys rule the earth. We absolutely love monkeys, so we have created a site for all things related to monkeys. Here you will find pictures of monkeys, monkey games, a list of endangered monkeys, and profile of different types of monkeys. We do our best to keep the site updates with fresh monkey-related content, so check back often to see what we’ve added.

Fun Facts About Monkeys:

  1. Most monkeys have tails.
  2. Apes are not monkeys.
  3. There are currently 264 known monkey species.
  4. Spider Monkeys get their name because of their long arms, legs and tail.
  5. Some monkeys live on the ground, while others live in trees.
  6. Monkeys can be divided into two groups, Old World Monkeys that live in Africa and Asia, and New World Monkeys that live in South America.
  7. A Baboon is an example of an Old World Monkey, while a Marmoset is an example of a New World Monkey.
  8. Capuchin Monkeys are believed to be one of the smartest New World Monkey species. They have the ability to use tools, learn new skills and show various signs of self-awareness.
  9. Different monkey species eat a variety of foods, such as fruit, insects, flowers, leaves and reptiles.
  10. Groups of monkeys are known as a ‘tribe’, ‘troop’ or ‘mission’.
  11. The Pygmy Marmoset is the smallest type of monkey, with adults weighing between 120 and 140 grams.
  12. The Mandrill is the largest type of monkey, with adult males weighing up to 35 kg.
  13. The monkey is the 9th animal that appears on the Chinese zodiac, next appearing as the zodiac sign in 2016.
  14. Did you know that when monkeys yawn it’s sometimes because they are tired, and sometimes because they are mad?
  15. Monkeys peel their bananas and they don’t eat the skin.
  16. Chimpanzees, Gorillas, and Orangutans all catch cold, but curiously monkeys do not.
  17. All monkeys like to be clean so they have a Barber Monkey clean out their fur. The Barber Monkey’s payment is the bugs in its customer’s hair.
  18. The Orangutan is the largest fruit-eating animal in the world and it rarely comes out of the trees.

Breeds of Monkeys

CapuchinsCapuchins are a subset in the family of New World Monkeys. Until 2011, all 9 species were part of the single Cebus genus, but have since been split between the genus Cebus and the genus Sapajus. They reach a length of approximately 12 to 22 inches on average, with tails that are roughly the same length as their bodies.

MarmosetsMarmosets are a subset in the family of New World Monkeys. As the smallest monkeys, Marmosets average 8 inches in length. A few distinguishing characteristics include having claws rather than nails, as well as stiff and tactile hairs on their wrists. Marmosets are indigenous to the Amazon rainforest in South America.

SakisSakis are a subset in the family of New World Monkeys. Now consisting of 10 different species, Saki monkeys were once condensed into only 7 species with a few different types being classified together. Fully grown Saki monkeys have a body length ranging from 14 to 24 inches and can weigh as much as 5 pounds.

Squirrel MonkeysSquirrel Monkeys are a subset in the family of New World Monkeys. Until 1984, all Squirrel Monkeys were considered part of a single species, but are now broken into the 5 species we know today. Common features of Squirrel Monkeys include a long and hairy tail, flat nails, small hallux, and curved claws that are pointed.